According to the International Energy Agency in Paris, 80% of today's energy demand is being met by fossil fuels. This has resulted in emissions of CO2 to the tune of around 30-35 gigatons per year. The escalating climate crisis has propelled us towards finding an alternative to the existing energy supply chain and demanding newer approaches in energy conversion and storage.

CACEE-2020 aims to bring pioneering and upcoming researchers from both academia and industry to a common platform to discuss such pressing issues on the energy crisis. This meeting intends to focus on recent research particularly related to catalysis assisted newer strategies for energy conversion, advancements in photovoltaic, and potential strategies in electrochemical energy storage. Novel and promising materials and methods for CO2 sequestration will be another core topic of the discussion. Such discussions will also be extended to the conversion of CO2 to useful chemicals towards the development of 'non-fossil fuel' derived chemical fuels. Each day of this event shall be dedicated to one theme, and will lay emphasis on novel research strategies and formulation of future energy policies.

The conference encourages the participation of young researchers and a few selected abstracts of them will be presented in the form of short talks. There will be best presentation awards for a few selected ones and which will be evaluated by an expert committee.


December 16th 2020 [ Photovoltaic Day]
December 17th 2020 [Energy Storage Day]
December 18th 2020 [Catalysis Day]


Registration Fee

No Registration fee for registered participants

Registration has been closed

The registration is mandatory for attending the CACEE 2020 ONLINE MEET. The registration is free of cost. There will be only a limited number of seats available and hence only those registered will be receiving the online meeting login details.

Those who are not able to register for the conference can watch the live youtube streaming. They can also post questions and will be discussed with the speakers.

Youtube link:


Organizing Committee

T. N. Narayanan (TIFR, Hyderabad, Convener)

Vivek Polshettiwar (TIFR, Mumbai, Convener )

Jagannath Mondal (TIFR, Hyderabad)

Pranav R. Shirhatti (TIFR, Hyderabad)

Pabitrakumar K. Nayak (TIFR, Hyderabad)

Deepa Kushalani (TIFR, Mu mbai)

Jyotishman Dasgupta (TIFR , Mumbai)

Advisory Committee

V. Chandrasekhar (TIFR, Hyderabad)

P. K. Madhu (TIFR, Hyderabad)

T. P. Radhakrishnan (HCU Hyderabad)

A. K. Tyagi (BARC India)

Vijayamohanan K Pillai (IISER Tirupati, India)

Ashutosh Sharma (Secretary to DST, IIT Kanpur)

Pulickel M. Ajayan (Rice University, USA)

Prashant V. Kamat (University of Notre Dame, USA)

Ron Naaman (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)

David Cahen (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)

Henry Snaith (University of Oxford, UK)



Young Researcher Awards Winners

1. Tata Institute of Fundamental Research - Hyderabad will present Platinum Jubilee Award for the best oral presentation worth of INR. 10,000/-.
2. Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Materials Horizons, Nanoscale Horizons, and Sustainable Energy & Fuels will present 5 best oral presentation awards which constitute a cash prize of INR 10,000/- each.
3. American Chemical Society journals ACS Catalysis, ACS Energy Letters, ACS Applied Electronic Materials, ACS Applied Energy Materials, ACS Applied Nano Materials, and ACS Omega will present 6 best oral presentation awards constitute ACS Journal Certificate and One-Year complimentary ACS Membership.
4. All the attendees of the conference will get a 50% discount on ACS Membership.

Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Hyderabad
36/P, Gopanpally Village,
Serilingampally Mandal,
Ranga Reddy District,
Hyderabad 500107
Email    : cacee2020 at tifrh dot res dot in
Phone  : +91 (0)40 2020 – 3001
Fax       : +91 (0)40 2020 – 3105