According to the International Energy Agency in Paris, 80% of today's energy demand is being met by fossil fuels. This has resulted in emissions of CO2 to the tune of around 30-35 gigatons per year. The escalating climate crisis has propelled us towards finding an alternate to the existing energy supply chain and demanding newer approaches in energy conversion and storage.

CACEE-2020 aims to bring pioneering and upcoming researchers from both academia and industry to a common platform to discuss such pressing issues on the energy crisis. This meeting intends to focus on recent research particularly related to catalysis assisted newer strategies for energy conversion, advancements in photovoltaic, and potential strategies in electrochemical energy storage. Novel and promising materials and methods for CO2 sequestration will be another core topic of the discussion. Such discussions will also be extended to the conversion of CO2 to useful chemicals towards the development of 'non-fossil fuel' derived chemical fuels. Each day of this event shall be dedicated to one theme, and will lay emphasis on novel research strategies and formulation of future energy policies.

The conference encourages the participation of young researchers who will be provided an opportunity to present their work in the form of posters.


To be updated


List of Confirmed Speakers

1. Prof. Ron Naaman, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
2. Prof. David Cahen, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
3. Prof. Maya Bar Sadan, Ben Gurion University, Israel
4. Prof. Pulickel M. Ajayan, Rice University, USA
5. Prof. Prashant V. Kamat, University of Notre Dame, USA
6. Prof. N. Kalaiselvi, CSIR-CECRI, India
7. Prof. Aditi Haldar, IIT Mandi, India
8. Prof. Vijayamohanan K. Pillai, IISER Tirupati, India
9. Prof. Ashutosh Sharma, IIT kanpur, India
10. Prof. A. K. Tyagi, BARC, India
11. Prof. T. P. Radhakrishnan, University of Hyderabad, India
12. Prof. Viswanath Balakrishnan, IIT Mandi, India
13. Prof. M. M. Shaijumon, IISER Thiruvananthapuram, India
14. Prof. Naga Phani B Aetukuri, IISc, India
15. Prof. Rajeev Ahuja, Uppsala University, Sweden
16. Prof. Rahul Banerjee, IISER Kolkata, India
17. Prof. Amitava Patra, IACS Kolkata, India
18. Prof. Deepa M., IIT Hyderabad, India
19. Prof. Jagjit Nanda, ORNL, USA
20. Prof.  Alexej Jerschow, New York University, USA
21. Prof. Nikhil Koratkar, RPI, USA

22. Prof. Frank Marken, University of Bath, UK
23. Prof. Md. K. Nazeeruddin, EPFL, Switzerland
24. Prof. Narayan Pradhan, IACS Kolkata, India
25. Prof. Angel Cuesta Ciscar, University of Aberdeen, UK.
26. Prof. Sudip Chakraborty, IIT Indore, India
27. Prof. Antonie Kahn, Princeton University, USA
28. Prof. Angshuman Nag, IISER Pune, India
29. Prof. C. S. Gopinath, NCL Pune, India
30. Prof. K. S. Narayan, JNCASR Bangalore, India
31. Prof. Alexandru Vlad, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium
32. Prof. S. Sampath, IISc Bangalore, India
33. Prof. Musthafa Muhammed, IISER Pune, India
34. Prof. Jitendra Bera, IIT Kanpur, India
35. Prof. Paul Braun, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
36. Prof. Tom Rufford, The University of Queensland, Australia
37. Prof. Ana Flavia Nogueira, University of Campinas, Brazil
38. Prof. Sebastian C. Peter, JNCASR Bangalore, India
39. Prof. Michal Leskes, Weizmann Institute of Science , Israel
40. Dr Prateek Dongare, Associate Editor (Energy Materials & Catalysis), Nature Communications
41. Prof Saroj K Nayak, IIT Bhubaneswar
42. Prof. Shobhana Narasimhan, JNCASR Bangalore, India

Pre-Registration & Abstract Submission

Important Dates

Pre-Registration and Abstract Submission opens: June 04, 2020
Pre-Registration and Abstract Submission deadlines:July 15, 2020
Intimation of abstract acceptance: August 01, 2020
Registration Completion (payment) Last Date: August 30, 2020

Registration Fee

Participants Reg. Fees (India, INR) Reg. Fees (Foreign, USD)
Students 5000 200
Post-doctoral Fellows 6000 300
Regular Academic 8000 500
Business/Industry 15000 800


Organizing Committee

T. N. Narayanan (TIFR, Hyderabad, Convener)

Vivek Polshettiwar (TIFR, Mumbai, Convener )

Jagannath Mondal (TIFR, Hyderabad)

Pranav R. Shirhatti (TIFR, Hyderabad)

Pabitrakumar K. Nayak (TIFR, Hyderabad)

Deepa Kushalani (TIFR, Mu mbai)

Jyotishman Dasgupta (TIFR , Mumbai)

Advisory Committee

V. Chandrasekhar (TIFR, Hyderabad)

P. K. Madhu (TIFR, Hyderabad)

T. P. Radhakrishnan (HCU Hyderabad)

A. K. Tyagi (BARC India)

Vijayamohanan K Pillai (IISER Tirupati, India)

Ashutosh Sharma (Secretary to DST, IIT Kanpur)

Pulickel M. Ajayan (Rice University, USA)

Prashant V. Kamat (University of Notre Dame, USA)

Ron Naaman (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)

David Cahen (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)

Henry Snaith (University of Oxford, UK)


To be updated


Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Hyderabad
36/P, Gopanpally Village,
Serilingampally Mandal,
Ranga Reddy District,
Hyderabad 500107
Email    : cacee2020 at tifrh dot res dot in
Phone  : +91 (0)40 2020 – 3001
Fax       : +91 (0)40 2020 – 3105